Vocal / Opera

Purification (2016) – 4′
for Colleen Phelps
A work for voice and desert percussion with a text by Kendall A.

Painting Dew (2016) – 7-10′
for Brandon Wendt, Lauren McAllister, and Drew Dolan
A modular work for piano, percussion [snare drum, mbira, tuned metal pipes], and mezzo-soprano with text extracted from Kendall A.’s poem Dew Point

Fragrant mountain (2016) – 7-8′
for Jackie Stevens and Colleen Phelps
A work for soprano, guqin (古琴), and bass drum with a text by Kendall A.

Reverberations (2015) – 5′
for Becca and Ilya Finkelshteyn
A piece for soprano and cello based on the poem by Kendall A.

Haumea [妊神星] (2015) – 7.30′
for the Tianjin Symphony Orchestra
2, 2, 2, 2 – 2, 2, 2, 1, 2 perc, hp, str + soprano soloist
A work for soprano and orchestra with a text by Kendall A.

Water Music (2015-16) – 9′
for Colleen Phelps
Three movements for singing percussionist (voice + wine glasses) with texts adapted from da Vinci’s notebooks: Perspective (2016), the center and cause of many circles… (2015), & Shadows (2016)

Difficulty on Re-entry (2014) – 13′
Commissioned by NANOWorks Opera
Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano + Alto Flute, Guitar, Bass
Chamber opera in one act with a libretto by Kendall A.