XelmYa+ – points of return

Online concert tonight with XelmYa, including the EU premiere of the alto recorder solo I wrote for Sylvia:

Full program:

XelmYa+ – Freddi Börnchen, oboe & Sarah Saviet, violin & Sylvia Hinz, recorder

Scramble (1971) – Simone Forti (*1935, US)
Lágrimas de sol (2018) para oboe EUA – Melissa Vargas Franco (*1980, CO)
undone (2020)*** for violin solo UA – Soosan Lolavar (*1987, IR/UK)
Points of return (2018)** for alto recorder solo EUA – Rachel C. Walker (*1994, US)
decessio (2019)* – Jeanne Strieder (*1980, DE)

* for XelmYa+, ** for Sylvia Hinz, *** for Sarah Saviet

Posted in Uncategorized

Beiguan rehearsal

A photo from the rehearsal earlier today with Liu Yu-Hsiu and Li Chi-Chien, who will premiere The space in between for two Beiguan musicians and electronics on the 23rd during the opening concert of the Kuandu Arts Festival.

Autumn wrote an introduction to her text and the piece here.

Live Concert

Pianist Humay Gasimzade gave an online concert last weekend:

The full program was:

Turkar Gasimzada: Dhikr for piano and live electronics (2016)
Ben Damann: The Baby Duck in You Has Died for piano and electronics (2020)
Ka Hei Cheng: The Engulfing Turbulence for piano and electronics (2020) – premiere
Julius Eastman: Piano II- 2nd movement (1986)
Rachel Walker: Fú’ōu (2016)
Brian Ferneyhough: Lemma Icon Epigram (1981)


I haven’t made an update for a little bit; here is some of what I’ve been wrapped up in the meantime.

I spent time this Spring finishing a work for Ensemble Adapter (for piccolo, bass clarinet, prepared harp, prepared xylophone)…

…and also a piece for two Beiguan 北管 musicians (voice/percussion, voice/sanxian) and electronics, which will premiere at the end of September in Taipei.

Both are with text from Autumn Tsai.

Beiguan workshop / Regensburg performance

A few photos from last week’s workshop in Hannover with Ensemble Water-Stage from Taipei:

And the poster for tonight’s concert during the Tage Neuer Musik Regensburg, where pianist Judith Goetze is performing 浮沤 (2016):

Posted in Uncategorized

Photos from Departure Duo premiere

A few months ago, I finished a new work for soprano and double bass with text by poet Eleanor Goodman. Departure Duo had commissioned the work, and gave several performances last month in New York and Boston — they are ideal collaborators and were so attentive to the world of the piece.